Park Ridge Education Association

Hello Educators of District 64 and the Park Ridge/ Niles community.

I hope you have noticed the new look of the PREA website.  We would like to become a more useful resource for all members and a good vehicle for us to communicate with the broader Park Ridge and Niles community.  I look forward to posting new President’s Messages frequently throughout the year updating you on PREA’s work.

Although 2014-15 is not a negotiations year, we still have a very busy calendar.  The PREA Executive Board meets frequently with Dr. Heinz and her administration to work collaboratively to better the product that District 64 delivers to the families of our community.  We are committed to facilitating communication between teachers and administrators of all that is occurring in the classrooms and the hallways of each of our buildings --to share our concerns as well as our successes.  Dr. Heinz and I have also partnered to ensure that, at least monthly, meaningful conversations occur between each building’s principal and the PREA building reps.  We believe that this is an important step in improving communication at each school.  The PREA Executive Board will work to make sure that conversations are relevant and that administration follows through on any concerns that require action. Thank you to all of our building reps who are a part of this communication process.  Please let me know how I can help to make those conversations more meaningful.

This spring, the District 64 School Board will have a majority of the seven board member positions open for re-election.  It is PREA’s obligation to participate in the process of this election by recruiting quality candidates and helping them through the sometimes-arduous process of registering and running a campaign.  Tony Belmonte of Franklin School has stepped up to lead our Board Elections committee.  We are now looking for members to join Tony in this important work.  Their first meeting will be on Monday, September 22 in room 135 of Franklin School at 4:00. Thank you in advance for contacting Tony ( if you are interested.

PREA and the District continue to move forward on establishing our joint PERA committee.  This mandated committee will begin the process of evaluating our current evaluation tool and determining how the student growth component will be implemented.  Tom Nasshan and Erin Breen are working closely with Dr. Lopez (formerly Hinton) on this task.  Updates will be made available as the work progresses. 

Also, as I mentioned previously, we will begin the process of negotiating a new contract with the Board during the 2015-16 school year.  In preparation, a whole new slate of six (plus the president) PREA negotiators will be elected this spring as set out in our recently updated by-laws (which will soon be available on this website).   Please consider running for one of these positions.  I can’t stress how important it is to have a variety of schools and teaching assignments represented in this group.

Finally, your friends at the IEA office are working diligently to spread the word about the state and local elections this November.  We hope you can join us for a Get Out the Vote rally at the Old Orchard Maggiano’s on Friday, September 26.  We are looking for at least ten PREA members to attend so please spread the word.

Thank you for considering becoming more active in your PREA.  Please join me in whatever capacity you can as we can continuing to improve the educational experience in District 64.

My best,  Andy Duerkop, PREA President




Welcome to our new 2014-2015 teachers!

2014-2015 New Teachers